Here are some of Minipreneur’s favourite picture books for National Share-A-Story Month.

Attack of the Giant Baby! by David Lucas & Bruce Ingman

I read this book every night to Minipreneur. He absolutely loves it! This laugh-out-loud picture book is perfect for igniting giant imaginations with a story about a Giant Baby destroying everything in his path and the various attempts by the King to save the kingdom from sending in the Royal Airforce to letting loose a monster-sized bear. But why is no-one listening to the Princess? Find out in this larger-than-life picture book written by David Lucas and illustrated by Bruce Ingman.

£12.99 published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Tilda Tries Again by Tom Percival

Bold, bright and empowering, this is an inspiring story written & illustrated by Tom Percival about coping with difficult situations. I think this is the ideal book for helping children build resilience, self-confidence and manage their feelings. It’s also the kind of book that helps little ones embrace a ‘can do’ approach to life. Minipreneur loves this book and I think every child’s bookshelf should contain one (or more) of Tom’s books.

£6.99 published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books

The Witchling’s Wish by Lu Fraser & Sarah Massini

This is a heart-warming, magical picture book about what it means to be a friend written by the hugely talented Lu Fraser and beautifully illustrated by Sarah Massini. This is a beautiful friendship story full of gentle charm and gorgeous illustrations. Minipreneur loves the appealing rhyme this book is written in.

£12.99 published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books

The Viking Who Liked Icing by Lu Fraser & Mark McKinley

Nut isn’t like the other vikings; he doesn’t climb hills or swim icy lakes… but he does have one great passion – Nut loves to bake cakes! Told in effortless verse, this hilarious picture book is an original take on believing in yourself & learning how to shine – two important emotional skills that I’m instilling in Minipreneur from an early age.

£6.99 published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Leaves by Stephen Hogtun

A gorgeous debut picture book from a huge new talent, this is a moving story about the leaves that grow and fall, and the memories we hold dear of intergenerational relationships – perfect for fans of Benji Davies and Oliver Jeffers. Filled with Stephen’s luminous, atmospheric artwork, this is a truly beautiful book that shines in both its moving message and its gorgeous illustration style. It’s a real pleasure to share with Minipreneur during storytime.

£12.99 published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books

For more children’s book reviews, please click here for the Book Club section.